skip to main content NIST Center for Neutron Research NIST Center for Neutron Research National Institute of Standards and Technology
Home Instruments Science Experiments SiteMap

Neutron Spin Filters: Polarized 3He

Nuclear spin polarized 3He gas, produced by optical pumping, can be used to polarize or analyze neutron beams because of the strong spin dependence of the neutron absorption cross section for 3He. Compared to commonly used neutron polarizers such as supermirrors and Heusler crystals, neutron spin filters (NSF) have these advantages: 1) they are broadband and can polarize cold, thermal or hot neutrons effectively; 2) they can polarize large area and large divergence neutron beams without adding beam divergence; 3) they are in-line add-on devices, and 4) they can efficiently flip the neutron polarization by reversing the 3He nuclear polarization. This last capability can be performed using the adiabatic fast passage nuclear magnetic resonance technique, thus integrating the polarizer and the flipper into a single neutron polarizing device.

Polarized 3He is used to provide polarized beam capability for various instruments at the NIST Center for Neutron Research. The process involves the polarization of 3He gas contained within a glass cell which is placed on the instrument. By this method, polarized 3He can be used to polarize the neutron beam (polarizer) and/or select out the chosen spin state (analyzer). The high density of polarized 3He gas (1019 to 1020 cm−3) required for an effective neutron polarizer can be produced using two optical pumping methods: spin-exchange (SEOP) {Walker97 , BCV60}, which is performed directly at high pressure (1-10 bar), and metastability-exchange (MEOP) {CSW63}, in which the gas is polarized at low pressure (1 mbar) and then compressed. More detail is provided through the reference links below about neutron spin filters.

The NIST Center for Neutron Research (NCNR) initiated a polarized 3He neutron spin filter program in 2006. The goal is to polarize and/or analyze neutron beams for neutron scattering instruments where 3He NSFs are advantageous. At the NCNR, polarized 3He NSF devices have been applied to diffuse reflectometry, small-angle neutron scattering (SANS), and thermal neutron triple-axis spectrometry (TAS). Applications to more instruments (Multi Axis Crystal Spectrometer, Disk Chopper time-of-flight spectrometer, BT-1 powder diffractometer, Materials Diffractometer, MAGIK reflectometer) are under development. For more information about the capabilities specific to the NCNR neutron spin filter program, please select the provided links.


NSF News and Updates
Updated Polarized SANS Reduction Link
The link is listed under 'Small Angle Neutron Scattering'. The link provided has the current polarized beam reduction software.
Equipment page added
The page is listed under 'NSF Information'. It includes details about NSF equipment usage, such as instrument, lifetime, cell change, Q-range, etc.

More info to come...

Instruments Using Neutron Spin Filters

SEOP station 3He at BT-7 instrument 3He at SANS instrument 3He at MAGIK instrument

NSF Information Double Focusing Triple-Axis Spectrometer Small Angle Neutron Scattering MAGIK Offspecular Reflectometer
  • SEOP Method
  • NSF Figures of Merit
  • Equipment
  • Instrument Info Slides
  • NSF Publications
  • BT-7 Homepage
  • Neutron Spin Filter: How it works
  • Polarized Beam Aids
  • Polarized Beam Correction Software
  • BT-7 Publications
  • SANS Homepage
  • Neutron Spin Filter: How it works
  • Polarized Beam Aids
  • Polarized Beam Correction Software
  • SANS Publications
  • MAGIK Homepage
  • Neutron Spin Filter: How it works
  • Polarized Beam Checklist
  • Full Polarized Beam Procedure
  • MAGIK Publications
  • NSF REFERENCES
  • Laser Monitor
  • NSF Polarization Correction
  • Automated NMR Commands
  • NSF Logbooks
  • FACILITY INFORMATION
  • Obtaining Beamtime
  • Facility Schedule
  • Monetary Assistance
  • Sample Environment

  • NSF Contacts

    Name Office Phone E-mail
    Wangchun Chen (301)975-6222 wangchun.chen@nist.gov
    Shannon Watson (301)975-6232 shannon.watson@nist.gov
    Kathryn Krycka (Magnetic Media) (301)975-8685 kathryn.krycka@nist.gov


    Instrument Contacts

    Triple Axis
    Name Office Phone E-mail
    Jeff Lynn (Team Leader) (301)975-6246 jeff.lynn@nist.gov
    Ross Erwin (Polarized Beam) (301)975-6245 ross.erwin@nist.gov
    SANS
    Name Office Phone E-mail
    Paul Butler (Team Leader) (301)975-2028 paul.butler@nist.gov
    MAGIK
    Name Office Phone E-mail
    Brian Maranville (Instrument Contact) (301)975-6034 brian.maranville@nist.gov
    Julie Borchers (Magnetic Media) (301)975-6597 julie.borchers@nist.gov



    Last modified 4-09-14